Meet Your Council: Council of Conferences Open House

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

7:00 Eastern Time

The Council of Conferences (COC) invites all AAS members to join us for an open house informational meeting to learn about what the council does, how your region might secure funding for outreach and conference activity, and ways to get involved in the COC.  The council consists of nine members representing each of the nine regional conference organizations that are affiliated with, but autonomous from, the AAS.  Council members will talk about their experiences working with AAS and answer audience questions about all aspects of the organization. Following some general introductions, we look forward to answering your questions and engaging in discussion.  Please join us!

COC Members

  • Ethan Segal (MCAA), Michigan State University, History (Chair)
  • Rachael Hutchinson (MAR/AAS), University of Delaware, Japanese Studies
  • Noriko Murai (ASCJ), Sophia University, Art History
  • Matthew Fraleigh (NEAAS), Brandeis University, Literature
  • Keiko Hirata (ASPAC), California State University Northridge, Political Science
  • Greg Lewis (WCAAS), Weber State University, History
  • Catherine Phipps (SEC/AAS), University of Memphis, History (Vice Chair)
  • Patricia Schiaffini-Vedani, Texas State University, Literature
  • Tiantian Zheng, State University of New York at Cortland, Anthropology