Ramanujan Prize

A.K. Ramanujan Book Prize for Translation

A.K. Ramanujan (1929–1993) was born and educated in Mysore, India. He taught at the University of Chicago for more than three decades, where he served as the chairman of the Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations. He earned the Padma Shri in 1976 and a MacArthur Fellowship in 1983. In recognition of the excellence of his translations, the South Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies has established the A.K. Ramanujan Book Prize for Translation, awarded biennially.


$1,000 to the translator.

Guidelines for Submission

  • Translations will be judged by their aesthetic quality and contributions to the field of South Asian studies. 
  • Special consideration will be given to innovative work that reaches a wide audience. 
  • Books published in 2017 or 2018 are eligible for the 2020 prize.
  • Copies should be sent to each member of the selection committee.


The deadline for submissions is October 1, 2019.

Ramanujan Prize Committee

Tony Stewart (Chair)
Department of Religious Studies
VU BOX 351585
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee 37235

Sunil Sharma
World Languages & Literatures
Boston University
745 Commonwealth Ave
Boston, MA 02139

Elaine Fisher
Building 70, Room 72D
450 Serra Mall
Stanford, CA 94305

2020 Award


Robert P. Goldman and Sally J. Sutherland Goldman, The Rāmāyaṇa of Vālmīki: An Epic of Ancient India, Volume VII: Uttarakāṇḍa, Princeton University Press

AAS Secretariat staff are working remotely due to CDC guidelines regarding COVID-19. Please contact staff by email rather than phone. Staff directory