Kahin Prize

George McT. Kahin Prize

The George McT. Kahin Prize of the Association for Asian Studies is given biennially to an outstanding scholar of Southeast Asian studies from any discipline or country specialization to recognize distinguished scholarly work on Southeast Asia beyond the author’s first book.

There are no citizenship or residence requirements for nominees. The award was initiated in 2007 at the behest of the Cornell University Center for Southeast Asian Studies, friends and students of George Kahin, and the Southeast Asia Council of the Association for Asian Studies to honor the contributions of George McT. Kahin to the field of Southeast Asian Studies.

There is no Kahin Prize competition for 2020.

2019 Awards


Lisandro Claudio, Liberalism and the Postcolony: Thinking the State in 20th Century PhilippinesNational University of Singapore Press
Honorable Mention

James RushHamka’s Great Story: A Master Writer’s Vision of Islam for Modern Indonesia, University of Wisconsin Press

AAS Secretariat staff are working remotely due to CDC guidelines regarding COVID-19. Please contact staff by email rather than phone. Staff directory