Buchanan Prize

Franklin R. Buchanan Prize

Established in 1995 by the AAS Committee on Educational Issues and Policy and the Committee on Teaching about Asia, the Franklin R. Buchanan Prize is awarded annually to recognize an outstanding pedagogical, instructional, or curriculum publication on Asia designed for K-12 and college undergraduate instructors and learners.

The mission of the Buchanan Prize is to recognize excellence and innovation in curricular and instructional materials, especially for non-specialists teaching in K-12 and college undergraduate classrooms. To that end, the winning submission will reflect current scholarship as well as innovative pedagogical methodologies that emphasize student-centered learning and skill development. Submissions should enhance teaching beyond conventional textbooks, primary source readers, or collected or academic essays. The winning submission will contribute qualitatively to the available materials for teaching the specific content and make a significant impact on the intended audience. 


The prize includes a $1,000 monetary award and a one-year membership to AAS.

Guidelines for Submission

  • Any format is acceptable, including print, CD, video, and online formats.
  • Submissions that address underrepresented regions of Asia, as defined by the Association for Asian Studies, are encouraged.
  • Submissions must have been published after January 1, 2018 and include well-articulated and detailed teaching strategies in order to be competitive.


Submissions are due November 1, 2019.

For more information and a submission form, please contact the Chair of the Committee:

Patrick W. Hughes
University of Pittsburgh
Phone: 412-648-7737
E-mail: hughespw@pitt.edu

2019 Award

The AAS Secretariat will be closed Monday, January 20, in observation of Martin Luther King Jr. Day