Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award

Chaplin Memorial Award for Excellence in Japanese Language Teaching

The Hamako Ito Chaplin Award for Excellence in Japanese Language Teaching is made possible through the generous donation of Professor George Chaplin, whose wife, Hamako Ito Chaplin, was a devoted, experienced, and well-respected professor of the Japanese language at Yale University for many years. Each year, a prize of $1,000 is awarded to either a current graduate student or a full-time instructor of Japanese for excellence in Japanese language teaching at the college-level.

Persons interested in contributing to the award fund should send their contributions to:

The Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award, c/o Association for Asian Studies, 825 Victors Way, Suite 310, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48108.

2022 Award

The Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award Committee is pleased to announce that Dr. Jeff Peterson (Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese, Brigham Young University) is the recipient of the 2022 Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award for Excellence in Japanese Language Teaching. Dr. Peterson has a background in Japanese language pedagogy and linguistics. He has taught Japanese classes at all levels, and they are described as student-centered, effective, and engaging. Dr. Peterson helps students develop functional communication skills through culturally and contextually rich learning experiences. He has an extensive record of developing educational materials, including co-authoring an elementary-level Japanese language textbook series and curating new reading materials for the BYU library’s Japanese extensive reading area. The selection committee would like to congratulate Dr. Peterson for his accomplishments and look forward to his continued contribution to Japanese language education. 

Past Awards

2001: Misumi Sadler, Leo Shing-chi Yip

2002: Hiroaki Kawamura

2004: Matthew Burdelski

2005: Masako Inamoto

2006: Eiko Ushida

2007: Priya Ananth

2008: Miki Kashima

2009: Scott Alexander Lineberger

2010: Margaret Camp

2011: Wakana Maekawa

2012: Erika Hirano-Cook

2013: Stephen Luft, Kanako Yao

2014: Michiko Kaneyasu

2015: Karen Curtin

2016: Shinichi Shoji, Shinsuke Tsuchiya

2017: Junko Tokuda Simpson

2018: Jae Takeuchi, Yumiko Tashiro

2019: Kasumi Yamazaki

2020: Yoko Hori and Shunichi Maruyama

2021: Yunchuan Chen