Northeast Asia Council (NEAC)

NEAC Members

  • Alisa Freedman, University of Oregon (Chair)
  • Yoshikuni Igarashi, Vanderbilt University
  • Nayoung Aimee Kwon, Duke University
  • Hwansoo Kim, Yale University 
  • Eiko Maruko Siniawer, Williams College
  • Akiko Takenaka, University of Kentucky
  • Joan Ericson, Colorado College
  • Charles Kim, University of Wisconsin
  • Marcia Yonemoto, University of Colorado

NEAC Committees

Grant Programs

Book Prizes

  • The John Whitney Hall Book Prize, given annually to the author of an outstanding English-language book on Japan.
  • The James B. Palais Prize, given annually to an outstanding scholar of Korean studies from any discipline or country specialization.

NEAC Prize for Best Graduate Student Paper

NEAC administers a prize for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the AAS Annual Conference.

Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award

A NEAC representative sits on the committee overseeing the Hamako Ito Chaplin Memorial Award for Excellence in Japanese Language Teaching.