East and Inner Asia Council (EIAC)

Formerly the China & Inner Asia Council (1970-2022). At its March 2022 meeting, the AAS Board of Directors approved the following motion:

The name of the CIAC is unique among the association’s four area councils in that its label centers on one particular country. The names of the various councils are intended to encompass the variety of fields in them. Some scholars in the CIAC have felt that highlighting one modern country’s name in the council title misrepresents the diversity of the areas and time periods that they study and marginalizes their work. In order to redress these concerns, we propose changing the name of the “China and Inner Asia Council” (CIAC) to the “East and Inner Asia Council” (EIAC).

EIAC Members

  • Shellen Xiao Wu, Lehigh University, History (Chair)
  • Christopher P. Atwood, University of Pennsylvania, History
  • Hilde De Weerdt, Leiden University, History
  • Ho-Fung Hung, Johns Hopkins University, Sociology
  • Stephen Platt, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, History
  • Tansen Sen, New York University Shanghai, History
  • Janet Theiss, University of Utah, History
  • Michelle C. Wang, Georgetown University, Art History
  • Emily Wilcox, William & Mary, Asian Studies

EIAC Committee


Book Prizes

EIAC Prize for Best Graduate Student Paper

EIAC recognizes outstanding scholarship presented at the AAS Annual Conference with the EIAC Prize for Best Graduate Student Paper.