AAS Fall 2021 Election Results

The AAS Fall 2021 election opened on September 15 and concluded on November 15. All current AAS members received an electronic ballot to vote in the election; of the 5,257 ballots sent, 1,120 were cast, representing a participation rate of 21.3 percent. Results of the election appear below.

We thank Survey and Ballot Systems for administering the 2021 election on our behalf, and all the AAS members who participated in the election by voting, as well as those who stood for election.

Those elected to office will assume their positions following the AAS 2022 Annual Conference (March 24-27).


The current Vice President, Kamran Asdar Ali (University of Texas, Austin), will automatically become President.

Vice President

Jean C. Oi (Stanford University)

China & Inner Asia Council

Hilde De Weerdt (Leiden University, the Netherlands)

Stephen R. Platt (University of Massachusetts-Amherst)

Janet Theiss (University of Utah)

Northeast Asia Council

Celeste Arrington (George Washington University; Korean Studies)

Yulia Frumer (Johns Hopkins University; Japan Studies)

Grace En-Yi Ting (University of Hong Kong; Japan Studies)

South Asia Council

Lisa Björkman (University of Louisville/Max Planck Institute of Social Anthropology, Halle)

Arjun Guneratne (Macalester College)

Shailaja Paik (University of Cincinnati)

Southeast Asia Council

Lynette J. Chua (National University of Singapore and Yale-NUS College)

Faizah Zakaria (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

Taomo Zhou (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

Council of Conferences

Ina Asim (University of Oregon; Asian Studies on the Pacific Coast)

Rebecca Corbett (University of Southern California; Western Conference)

Sarah Frederick (Boston University; New England Conference)

Diversity & Equity Committee

John (Song Pae) Cho (University of British Columbia, Okanagan; Tenure-Track Faculty)

Phianphachong Intarat (University of Hawai’i at Mānoa; Graduate Student)

Elena Valussi (Loyola University Chicago; Adjunct/Non-tenure-track/Independent Scholar)

Don J. Wyatt (Middlebury College; Tenure-Track Faculty)