AAS 2023 Prizes

Kristi Roundtree (left) awards the Franklin R. Buchanan Prize for Curricular Materials to Lucy Park (middle) and Elizabeth Jorgensen (right) for Sijo: Korea’s Poetry Form (Parkyoung Press).

The AAS is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s prize competitions and offer congratulations to all honorees. Awards were officially conferred at the AAS 2023 Awards Ceremony on Saturday, March 18 at 10:30am Eastern Time at the Hynes Convention Center; to see more photos from the event, please visit our photo album.

AAS Book Prizes

Joseph Levenson Prize (China, Pre-1900)

Ruth Mostern, The Yellow River: A Natural and Unnatural History (Yale University Press)

Honorable Mention: Tao Jiang, Origins of Moral-Political Philosophy in Early China (Oxford University Press)

Joseph Levenson Prize (China, Post-1900)

Joshua Goldstein, Remains of the Everyday: A Century of Recycling in Beijing (University of California Press)

Honorable Mention: Nicole Willock, Lineages of the Literary (Columbia University Press)

Bei Shan Tang Catalogue Prize (Chinese Art History)

Dora C.Y. Ching, Visualizing Dunhuang: The Lo Archive Photographs of the Mogao and Yulin Caves (Princeton University Press)

Bei Shan Tang Monograph Prize (Chinese Art History)

Aurelia Campbell, What the Emperor Built: Architecture and Empire in the Early Ming (University of Washington Press)

Honorable Mention: Rachel Silberstein, A Fashionable Century: Textile Artistry and Commerce in the Late Qing (University of Washington Press)

John Whitney Hall Prize (Japan)

Victor Seow, Carbon Technocracy: Energy Regimes in Modern East Asia (University of Chicago Press) 

Honorable Mention: Michael K. Bourdaghs, A Fictional Commons: Natsume Soseki and the Properties of Modern Literature (Duke University Press)

Honorable Mention: Reginald Jackson, A Proximate Remove: Queering Intimacy and Loss in The Tale of Genji (University of California Press)

James B. Palais Prize (Korea)

Hwasook Nam, Women in the Sky: Gender and Labor in the Making of Modern Korea (Cornell University Press)

Honorable Mention: Ksenia Chizhova, Kinship Novels of Early Modern Korea: Between Genealogical Time and the Domestic Everyday (Columbia University Press)

Bernard S. Cohn Prize (First book on South Asia)

Vaibhav Saria, Hijras, Lovers, Brothers: Surviving Sex and Poverty in Rural India (Fordham University Press)

Honorable Mention: Malini Sur, Jungle Passports: Fences, Mobility, and Citizenship at the Northeast India-Bangladesh Border (University of Pennsylvania Press)

Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy Prize (South Asia)

Elora Shehabuddin, Sisters in the Mirror: A History of Muslim Women and the Global Politics of Feminism (University of California Press)

Harry J. Benda Prize (First book on Southeast Asian Studies)

Alice Beban, Unwritten Rule: State-Making through Land Reform in Cambodia (Cornell University Press)

Honorable Mention: Lukas Ley, Building on Borrowed Time: Rising Seas and Failing Infrastructure in Semarang (University of Minnesota Press). 

George McT. Kahin Prize (Southeast Asia)

John Roosa, Buried Histories: The Anticommunist Massacres of 1965–1966 in Indonesia (University of Wisconsin Press)

Thongchai Winichakul, Moments of Silence: The Unforgetting of the October 6, 1976, Massacre in Bangkok (University of Hawaii Press)

Honorable Mention: Tania Murray Li and Pujo Semedi, Plantation Life: Corporate Occupation in Indonesia’s Oil Palm Zone (Duke University Press)

Franklin R. Buchanan Prize for Curricular Materials

Lucy Park and Elizabeth Jorgensen, Sijo: Korea’s Poetry Form (Parkyoung Press)

Honorable Mention: Catherine Fratto, Lynn Kawaratani, and Evan Dawley, “Centering Taiwan in Global Asia: K-14 Curriculum Website”

Honorable Mention: Linda Hoaglund, Angela Miesle Stokes, and Kachina Leigh, “Edo Avant Garde: K to 12 Arts Curriculum

Honorable Mention: Maria Adele Carrai, Jennifer Rudolph, and Michael Szonyi, The China Questions 2 (Harvard University Press)

Distinguished Contributions to Asian Studies Award

Richard Eaton, University of Arizona

Distinguished Service to the Association for Asian Studies Award

William Tsutsui, Ottawa University

Jason Finkelman, University of Illinois,

Graduate Student Paper Prizes

East and Inner Asia Council

Dingru Huang (Harvard University), “An Elephant Capture: ‘War against Nature,’ Multi-Ethnic Nationalism, and Animals in Socialist China”

Yifan Li (Ohio State University), “The New Architectural Wonder: Reproducing the Nanjing Yangzi River Bridge in Mao-era China”

Yi Ren (University of Pennsylvania), “Pulling Strings from the Margins of the Society: Blind Propagandists and Political Campaigns in Southeast Shanxi, 1949-1977”

Northeast Asia Council

Lillian Tsay (Brown University), “Sweetening the Empire: Japanese Western-style Confectionery in Colonial Taiwan and Beyond”

South Asia Council

Abdullah Nazar Hamad (University of British Columbia/LUMS), “From Pre-colonial to Colonial Forms of Engagement with the Pasts: A Study of Some Var Texts”

Southeast Asia Council

Ren Chao (University of Michigan), “Corporate Frontiers: Business, Empire, and Colonial Legal Pluralism in a Burmese Oilfield, c.1900-1908”

The AAS Secretariat is closed on Monday, May 29 in observance of the Memorial Day holiday