AAS 2022 Election Results

The AAS Fall 2022 election opened on September 15 and concluded on November 15. All current AAS members received an electronic ballot to vote in the election; of the 6,515 ballots sent, 1,001 were cast, representing a participation rate of 15.36 percent. Results of the election appear below.

We thank Survey and Ballot Systems for administering the 2022 election on our behalf, and all the AAS members who participated in the election by voting, as well as those who stood for election.

Those elected to office will assume their positions following the AAS 2023 Annual Conference in Boston (March 16-19).


The current AAS Vice President, Jean Oi (Stanford University), automatically assumes the role of President.

Vice President

Hyaeweol Choi (University of Iowa)

East and Inner Asia Council

Ho-fung Hung (Johns Hopkins University)

Tansen Sen (New York University Shanghai)

Emily Wilcox (William & Mary)

Northeast Asia Council

Japan Studies

Charlotte Eubanks (Pennsylvania State University)

Kate McDonald (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Korean Studies

Jina Kim (University of Oregon)

South Asia Council

Walter Hakala (University at Buffalo, SUNY)

Naeem Mohaiemen (Columbia University)

Projit Bihari Mukharji (University of Pennsylvania)

Southeast Asia Council

Michitake Aso (University at Albany, SUNY)

Paul Hutchcroft (College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University)

Ardeth Thawnghmung (University of Massachusetts Lowell)

Council of Conferences

New York Conference on Asian Studies (NYCAS)

Patricia Welch (Hofstra University)

Southeast Conference of the AAS (SEC/AAS)

Kevin Fogg (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Southwest Conference on Asian Studies (SWCAS)

Jooyoun Lee (St. Edward’s University)

Diversity and Equity Committee

Graduate Student

Felicity Stone-Richards (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Tenure-track/Adjunct/Non-tenure-track/Independent Scholar

Wen Liu (Academia Sinica)

* Mark Bookman (University of Tokyo) received election to the Diversity and Equity Committee, but passed away suddenly on December 16, 2022. First runner-up Wen Liu has graciously agreed to serve on the DEC.


AAS members voted to approve changing name of the China & Inner Asia Council to the East & Inner Asia Council.

AAS members voted to approve the removal of gender-specific language from the AAS Constitution and Bylaws.

AAS members voted to approve instituting two-year terms of service on the AAS Board for Council Chairs.

AAS members voted to approve the addition of an Executive Committee to the AAS Constitution and Bylaws.