2018 AAS Election Slate of Candidates

We are pleased to announce the slate of candidates for the fall 2018 AAS elections. Candidates’ biographical data will be posted on the AAS website later in the summer and the online ballot activated in September. Election day (when the ballot is closed and votes counted) will be in early November. Newly elected representatives will take office immediately after the annual conference in March 2019.

Our sincere thanks to all candidates for accepting nominations to represent their respective areas and councils.

Vice President

Sun Joo Kim (Harvard University, history, Korea)

Christine Yano (University of Hawaii, anthropology, Japan)

China and Inner Asia Council

James Benn (McMaster University, religion)

Neil Diamant (Dickinson College, political science)

Janet Gyatso (Harvard University, religion)

Petrus Liu (Boston University, gender studies)

Joanne Smith Finley (Newcastle University, modern languages)

Patricia Thornton (Oxford University, political science)

Zhou Yongming (University of Wisconsin-Madison, anthropology)

Northeast Asia Council

Fabian Drixler (Yale University, history, Japan)

Joan Ericson (Colorado College, literature, Japan)

Charles Kim (University of Wisconsin-Madison, history, Korea)

Scott O’Bryan (Indiana University, history, Japan)

Saeyoung Park (Leiden University, history, Korea)

Pamela Winfield (Elon University, religion and visual culture, Japan)

Marcia Yonemoto (University of Colorado Boulder, history, Japan)

South Asia Council

Mona Bhan (DePauw University, anthropology)

Neilesh Bose (University of Victoria, history)

Rajeev Kinra (Northwestern University, history)

Sanjay Reddy (New School for Social Research, economics)

Sanjay Ruparelia (New School for Social Research, politics)

Elora Shehabuddin (Rice University, humanities & politics)

Meghan Sijapati (Gettysburg College, religion)

Southeast Asia Council

Chiara Formichi (Cornell University, Southeast Asian Studies)

Richard Fox (University of Victoria, anthropology)

Sinae Hyun (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, history)

Erik Kuhonta (McGill University, political science)

Samson Lim (Singapore University of Technology & Design, history)

Cherubim Quizon (Seton Hall University, anthropology)

Eric Thompson (National University of Singapore, anthropology/sociology)

Council of Conferences

Asian Studies on the Pacific Coast (ASPAC)

Hilary Dickerson (Pacific Union College, history, Japan)

Keiko Hirata (California State University-Northridge, political science, Japan)

Kristen Parris (Western Washington University, political science, China)

New England Conference (NEAAS)

Bradley Davis (Eastern Connecticut State University, history, Vietnam)

Matthew Fraleigh (Brandeis University, literature, Japan)

Xueping Zhong (Tufts University, literature, China)

Western Conference (WCAAS)

Normally WCAAS also would be included on the ballot, but due to a tie vote three years ago, the conference decided at that time to have the two winning candidates split COC representation for two terms (six years). They will nominate again in 2021.